This past weekend, the SIOA (Stop Islamization of America) Facebook group page had this warning plastered across the top of the page:
This group is scheduled to be archived
Over the next few months, Facebook will be archiving all groups created using the old groups format. Moving forward, you can create groups using the new groups format, which makes it easy to share with the important groups in your life....
What happens when a FB group gets archived? It loses all its members:
When your old group gets archived, it will be converted to the new groups format. Almost everything from your old group will be available in the archived group, with a few exceptions.
And among the "things that will NOT be available in the archived version" include "the members of your old group."
That's why you need to rejoin, on the new page. Our SIOA group has well over 15,000 members -- they will not be moved to the "new group."
Note that some groups are given the option (a link) to upgrade. If your group page has this link, you can upgrade and keep all your members.
So who gets the upgrade option and why? Who decides?
Pamela Geller has a list of some of the groups that Facebook is not giving the upgrade option; therefore, they will lose all their members. These include AMERICANS CALLING FOR IMPEACHMENT OF OBAMA!; Stop Islamization of Europe; International Burn a Quran Day; Rally Point For Victims of FB-Jihad; and Anti-CAIR.
More here. See also some of the groups that will not be archived, and hence will keep their membership; not surprisingly, these include the likes of Americans Against Islamophobia and the Ground Zero Mosque Cordoba Initiative.
Hmmm. What a coincidence!